Irene

What Does That Sugar Craving REALLY Mean

In cravings, fruit, sugar, vegetables, wellness on March 2, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Not too long ago, I had a pretty strong sugar craving.

That was odd for me, because salt is really my craving of choice; I think if I could, I’d have a dish of salt for lunch or dinner.

A sugar craving is usually your body’s response to stress and its way of asking for more energy. So, always being the wellness coach, I had to deconstruct this craving to see what it was all about. I asked myself what I had been doing lately.

The answer: I was involved in a long, time-consuming, stressful project that created many sleepless nights. Now that I knew what was causing the craving, I could now manage it. I spent a little more time on myself with self-care, stress-reduction techniques and the use of more gentle sugars that don’t cause such extreme spikes in blood sugar, such as honey, Grade B maple syrup, brown rice syrup. I also ate more fruits and vegetables to crowd out the cravings. 

Here’s the point:  Don’t look at cravings as only a bad thing. They can actually be a good thing, because they’re giving you some important information and, as they say, knowledge is power.

***************************************************************************************************

Irene Ross, CHHC, AADP is a certified nutrition and wellness coach.  Author of the forthcoming book, 25 Ways To Fire Up your Day:  Increase Energy, Get More Done in Less Time, Balance Your Life, she is also an Ezine Expert Author and creator of a popular pet wellness blog:  www.furryfriendshavefun.wordpress.com.

She can be reached through her website:  www.irenefross.com.

Leave a Reply

